Bringing K-town home

Since I started working in Koreatown, I’ve had the opportunity to immerse myself in a completely unfamiliar cuisine–at least as much of it as they serve at Woorijip, the only K-town joint I can afford. But nothing’s cheaper than cooking at home. So I was happy to come across a recent article by Leslie Kaufman in the New York Times about immigrants who cook their country’s specialties at home, complete with recipes.

dscn3540The first dish I took a stab at was pa jun, Korean pancakes filled with scallions, or with anything else you feel like throwing in. The recipe is as simple as they come–just mix flour, egg, salt, and chopped scallion together with ice water, and fry it all up in oil. The result is more like a crepe than a pancake, thin and delicate and just a bit crisp on the edges. Dipped in a simple vinegar and soy sauce that’s also included in the recipe, the pancakes make a delicious appetizer that’s salty, sweet, and incredibly cheap and easy.

Check out the recipe here. And not to question the master chef, but I’d recommend adding more scallions than she calls for, and perhaps less vinegar in the dipping sauce.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pennypalate.wordpress.com/2009/02/19/bringing-k-town-home/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey, I’ve been following your blog for awhile– as an impoverished, wannabe foodie grad student, it’s a great resource 🙂 My fave thing at Woorjip are these rainbow rice cakes that are apparently sold every day but Saturday. For $2 you get four dense, chewy, almost bready rice white/green/yellow cakes made of rice flour. They don’t really sound appetizing when I describe them that way; yet, I still find myself going out of my way to stop in K-Town to get them. Hm.


Leave a Reply

